Grindguer Mtp Thread, Introduction
GrindGuer
Mar 2 2010, 04:09 PM
Experienced Rock Star & Challenge Star
Hey Emir,

I want to thank you for providing me this fabulous opportunity to be your pupil. I'm pretty sure I'll enjoy this journey with you. I hope I'll find all the time needed to work.

1. About me and my musical background
I'm 36, live in France and teach math in a school. I'm also an amateur free software developer : http://www.pyromaths.org.
I've been playing guitar for 16 years now. But I'm really not satisfied with my playing (who is anyway). I've got some technical basics but can't really improvise a solo. I think I've been most of the time studying technic and not enough playing music.
I've been playing in a metal band for a year or so and in a progressive band who did Dream theater covers (which were awful I must admit).

2. Favorite guitarists
I enjoy a lot of different styles. I've started listening to Pink Floyd and Dire Straits and love David Gilmour and Mark Knoppfler. Then I started to listen to metal music and guitar heroes. I love John Petrucci (in Dream Theater, not fan of his solo album), Steve Vai, Greg Howe and Guthrie Govan. I also listen to some Jazz and love John Scofield, Pat Metheny and Al Di Meola.

3. Favorite music style
Depending of my mood, I can listen Between the burried and me, Pat Metheny, Mozart, Pink Floyd. Except electronic and pop music, I think I love a lot of different styles.

4. What I expect from the MTP
I'd like to learn my fretboard, how to construct a rhythmic and a solo that can fit to it, and eventually some technics. I would like to know what to play when I have a guitar and a listener. Which is the aim of music, isn't it ? smile.gif
I also wish I can play a piece tastefully. I usually play the notes but it's like I can't put any emotion in it.

Hope this is a correct introduction. If you need any more information, ask and I'll try to answer.
Can't wait to hear from you.

GrindGuer, aka Jérôme (J-Rom in english)