Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Quick Licks #86 : Alternate Picking/back And Forth Blues Lick
Todd Simpson
post Jun 29 2019, 09:14 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Let's take a traditional blues like and freaking SHRED it. Instead of playing it in the traditional way, let's break it up a pinch and use a back and forth approach on it. In short, let's make it a bit more interesting and a bit more shreddy!!! smile.gif Try to keep a good palm mute. Try to use a pointy, thick pick, and try to sit in classical position instead of side saddle. It may not be possible. Some folks HATE pointy thick picks and HATE to play in classical position. This is all well and good smile.gif Play it ever how you can manage. You don't have to pick every note, only pick the ones that you feel you need to strike, this will allow you to roughly double your speed on this lick as you will be picking about half as much. Once you play it, then try to use the bits I'm on about to see if they can double/triple/quadruple the rate you are comfy playing it smile.gif Just as a test. So! To wit!!!!

Attached File  86.gp5 ( 1.7K ) Number of downloads: 9160

Attached Image

This is QUICK LICKS so somebody dive in and play QUICKLY!!!! smile.gif This is built to shred. If you wanna shred a lick, this is the lick to shred. It's quick, it's simple, it's begging to be shredded!!!!!

Todd



This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Jun 29 2019, 09:16 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
onetabmat
post Jul 23 2019, 12:21 PM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 30-July 18
From: UK
Member No.: 23.212



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 24 2019, 02:56 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



NAILED IT!! You've made huge gains in your playing. I can see great progress on your instagram posts and in your quick licks!! You have zero problem playing this lick. Add this to your noodlings!! You've clearly got this one under control Well played. Keep up your practice and youll keep getting better and better.
YOU JUST...
LEVELED UP!!!
You remain our TOP DAWG!!! The Highest Ranking Quick Licks Badge Ever!
Attached Image

Sarge
QUOTE (onetabmat @ Jul 23 2019, 07:21 AM) *
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 5 2020, 10:07 PM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Take 1 Sarge

https://youtu.be/zVStgiTVwkw


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 8 2020, 07:09 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Well played! The only issue I see is that this vid and a few previous ones seem to be a bit off in terms of audio/video synch. It's very close and I can still tell enough to be able to grade it, but it might be worth looking at why the synch is drifting. For using what we call"Dual System" (one system for recording audio, separate system for video) assuming that is what you are doing, it's common to use a slate which can be just snapping your fingers in the video framing so you can synch visually with the audio wave form. The better the synch is, the more I can get out of teh review adn the more I can give to you in terms of feedback. Just a small production issue, not related to playing. Anyhoo!

You got this one licked! It's a tricky lick in that the fingers can get twisted up since you are going back over notes you've already played. The repeating of these notes makes it sound like you are playing more notes than are actually being played. Especially at high speed. You've got a good start on this one. I'd say keep this one handy and try to increase the speed over time. This can be turned in to a "Shred Lick" with practice. You've got a good handle on it and you just..
You are one step away from being the TOP DAWG!!!!
LEVELED UP!!!
Attached Image
Todd

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 5 2020, 05:07 PM) *
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 8 2020, 09:02 AM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Todd,

Yeah, I know the sync is slightly off. To make things a little bit more fluid, I bought a usb audio box that O plug my spare headphone socket into from my Scarlett. Then in the webcam software I tell it to pull the audio from that box, I used to record audio in Reaper and then sync it in Movie Maker. I used to run the wav file and the video audio together to do the initial sync and then switch off the video audio and sync by eye for the last few tenths of a second. It's not much but it is a few more precious (to me) minutes given my time allowance.

I was hoping this would be okay, my last laptop didn't get anywhere close in terms of sync but I thought this was kinda okay for QL, I wouldn't use it for REC, I'd do it the old way for that.

I'll go back to using Reaper and syncing manually and just use the USB audio box for rough demo stuff when I have ideas for a collab or a problem I need to show someone.

Cheers buddy, onward and upward smile.gif



--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 9 2020, 03:49 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Can you tell the web cam software to pull the audio directly from the scarlett? Why send it out of the scarlett to a separate interface? If your using thu does it strip the plugin off if you try to grab from the scarlett? Just curious smile.gif
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 8 2020, 04:02 AM) *
Thanks Todd,

Yeah, I know the sync is slightly off. To make things a little bit more fluid, I bought a usb audio box that O plug my spare headphone socket into from my Scarlett. Then in the webcam software I tell it to pull the audio from that box, I used to record audio in Reaper and then sync it in Movie Maker. I used to run the wav file and the video audio together to do the initial sync and then switch off the video audio and sync by eye for the last few tenths of a second. It's not much but it is a few more precious (to me) minutes given my time allowance.

I was hoping this would be okay, my last laptop didn't get anywhere close in terms of sync but I thought this was kinda okay for QL, I wouldn't use it for REC, I'd do it the old way for that.

I'll go back to using Reaper and syncing manually and just use the USB audio box for rough demo stuff when I have ideas for a collab or a problem I need to show someone.

Cheers buddy, onward and upward smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 9 2020, 05:25 AM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



If I pull direct from the Scarlett I think it will be the dry signal from the guitar. Also with multiple inputs on the Scarlett I don't think I could specify which input to record even if I used the Helix to get a wet signal going into the Scarlett. I know a while back, you, Mertay and I all spoke at length about hour to record direct to hard drive without using the webcam mic and this was the only solution. The headphone socket gives me whatever is coming out of my monitors. There may be a way to do what you said but my knowledge isn't enough to work it out at the moment.

I've started syncing the Reaper file to the video again now so from QL89 it will be as good as I can currently get it wink.gif

Cheers

Phil

This post has been edited by Phil66: Jan 9 2020, 05:26 AM


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 9 2020, 09:53 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just as a simple experiment, open the settings for the web cam software and see if you get a list of other sound options. You should see the scarlett there. Simply select the scarlett and hit record. After recording play back the video to see what audio was passed to the software. It's a simple test. With the helix, if it's connected with USBit should show up as a source as well. Same test applies, see if it's in the dropdown menu, hit record, then play back. Should take about 10 minutes to try both.
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 9 2020, 12:25 AM) *
If I pull direct from the Scarlett I think it will be the dry signal from the guitar. Also with multiple inputs on the Scarlett I don't think I could specify which input to record even if I used the Helix to get a wet signal going into the Scarlett. I know a while back, you, Mertay and I all spoke at length about hour to record direct to hard drive without using the webcam mic and this was the only solution. The headphone socket gives me whatever is coming out of my monitors. There may be a way to do what you said but my knowledge isn't enough to work it out at the moment.

I've started syncing the Reaper file to the video again now so from QL89 it will be as good as I can currently get it wink.gif

Cheers

Phil
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 9 2020, 10:13 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I'll try that at the weekend buddy. I'm sure we did a lot of testing though, at the time you mentioned getting a camcorder with a sound input to record direct to the camcorder but I'd just bought a new one, in the end I got the top Logitech webcam which I've been using ever since.

Cheers

UPDATE:

Okay, I selected Scarlett and as expected, dry signal only. I selected Helix and made the video below. What do you think?
I can't for the life of me remember how I used to get Helix running through my monitors without Reaper open but I had to have Reaper on. In fact, I used to be able to run it without even booting my computer so long as the Scarlett was switched on, I don't think I disconnected anything unsure.gif

https://youtu.be/mAiZH-GKzdQ


This post has been edited by Phil66: Jan 10 2020, 08:57 PM


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 13 2020, 12:14 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Glad it's working! The synch issue is still there though. I don't know why it should be synched up. The computer is way fast. Maybe put the helix directly usb to the computer. I'm guessing it's attached to a hub? Could be creating the lag.


{G=
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 9 2020, 05:13 PM) *
I'll try that at the weekend buddy. I'm sure we did a lot of testing though, at the time you mentioned getting a camcorder with a sound input to record direct to the camcorder but I'd just bought a new one, in the end I got the top Logitech webcam which I've been using ever since.

Cheers

UPDATE:

Okay, I selected Scarlett and as expected, dry signal only. I selected Helix and made the video below. What do you think?
I can't for the life of me remember how I used to get Helix running through my monitors without Reaper open but I had to have Reaper on. In fact, I used to be able to run it without even booting my computer so long as the Scarlett was switched on, I don't think I disconnected anything unsure.gif

https://youtu.be/mAiZH-GKzdQ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 13 2020, 09:31 AM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I didn't think the sync was as bad on that take though. Everything is connected to that hub and in Reaper I'm getting 2ms latency, it's possibly more to do with being a webcam and not a good camcorder, what do you think?

Maybe soon, I'll look into a proper camcorder that can record direct to an external device.

For now, I'm back to syncing manually it doesn't take long if you turn on the sound file display in the video, you can match the spikes initially which gets close real quick and then just shuffle to get it spot on.

Cheers

Phil


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 13 2020, 08:19 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



it;s workable smile.gif And it's better than the previous on AV synch. Watch your pick hand and you can see it's just a pinch off. It's not a big deal for quick licks as quick licks are meant to be quick! I sure dont want you spending practice time on something manually synching a quick lick vid! Instead of that do a few more repetitions. smile.gif

Sometimes a hub can introduce latency all by itself. Depending on how many ports you have on your laptop, I'd say just for an experiment, try to plug the web cam and the Helix directly in to teh laptop. Plug everything else in to the hub. I've had this one simple change fix latency/synch and other issues.

I don't know if a real cam will help unless you get one with an audio input that will carry the audio from the helix or what not and that has a way to connect to your laptop, E.G. USB 3. There are cams like these days some of which are Go Pro Style and quite small and affordable. I'm using an old HD cam over firewire and my audio is usb so I"m synching manually. At once point I had the headphone jack feeding the camera but sometimes it would drift a bit for some reason.
Todd
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 13 2020, 04:31 AM) *
I didn't think the sync was as bad on that take though. Everything is connected to that hub and in Reaper I'm getting 2ms latency, it's possibly more to do with being a webcam and not a good camcorder, what do you think?

Maybe soon, I'll look into a proper camcorder that can record direct to an external device.

For now, I'm back to syncing manually it doesn't take long if you turn on the sound file display in the video, you can match the spikes initially which gets close real quick and then just shuffle to get it spot on.

Cheers

Phil
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 13 2020, 09:25 PM
Post #14


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Cheers buddy, thing is I prefer the TH-U to the Helix, the UI suits me better and easier to reamp wink.gif so I'm reluctant to go back to the Helix full time, I was even thinking of selling it laugh.gif


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 17 2020, 05:59 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



To be honest, unless you plan on doing a lot of live gigs/jams in the future, the THU plugin will serve your needs just as well if not better than the $1000 piece of hardware you have in the helix. It's why I sorta drifted away from hardware in general. I found it limiting. Still, I do have a very nice all tube preamp which is a clone of my fav preamp of all the the legendary X88r. It's amost more for nostalgia than anything else. I rarely record with it as it cant be changed once it's recorded which I find very annoying. Still, I have it run through my old 11 rack through the fx loop should a jam or gig come up. I still have a big old RANDAL 4x12 as well for the same reason. I could just run the 11 rack to the board, but now and then it's fun to ride the lightening smile.gif If you did sell the Helix you could get a very nice pair of studio monitors which would help your mixes and your production process in general. If you do go for a new pair, I'd suggest the KALI AUDIO LP6 which are simply the best monitors (powered) that I've ever heard under $500. I liked the m so much in fact I sold my old KRK which were my faves. But side by side the KRK seems almost lifeless. I did a quick video comparing them.

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 13 2020, 04:25 PM) *
Cheers buddy, thing is I prefer the TH-U to the Helix, the UI suits me better and easier to reamp wink.gif so I'm reluctant to go back to the Helix full time, I was even thinking of selling it laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 17 2020, 06:03 PM
Post #16


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks for the advice buddy,

I can also use TH-U into my Peavey Valveking MH20 or my Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue I think, by using one of the outputs on my Scarlett.

I currently use Tannoy monitors but they can be a bit boomy, maybe it's the placement beneath my shelf, I do have acoustic foam on the surfaces too the side and rear.

Cheers


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 17 2020, 11:01 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Yup! You can run it directly in to an amp on a clean channel if you like and then mic the amp to get the color "colour" (for the Europeans) from the amps and speaker. Some folks do this very thign to give the entire signal chain a bit more "life". The flexibility of the system is just enormous.

Todd
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 17 2020, 01:03 PM) *
Thanks for the advice buddy,

I can also use TH-U into my Peavey Valveking MH20 or my Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue I think, by using one of the outputs on my Scarlett.

I currently use Tannoy monitors but they can be a bit boomy, maybe it's the placement beneath my shelf, I do have acoustic foam on the surfaces too the side and rear.

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 18 2020, 06:50 AM
Post #18


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7.073
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



When I tried the Helix through my amps, I found it sounded best when using bedroom volumes to keep the cab sim running, I may be wrong, but at those levels you're not moving much air so the cab sim adds that elusive colour (color for the Americans wink.gif) What do you think?

Cheers



--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


[/url]
SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 18 2020, 08:23 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 19.421
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



True! At low volume, gives it much more character to leave some cab sims on in many cases.
Todd
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 18 2020, 01:50 AM) *
When I tried the Helix through my amps, I found it sounded best when using bedroom volumes to keep the cab sim running, I may be wrong, but at those levels you're not moving much air so the cab sim adds that elusive colour (color for the Americans wink.gif ) What do you think?

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th January 2020 - 02:11 AM