New Guitars Aren't Always So New., Newbie learns lessons about strings and action set.
jdriver
Jun 24 2008, 09:29 AM
GMC:er
I bought my American Deluxe Strat 2 months ago at a Guitar Center. All their guitars are set up and on display and anyone can play anything, whether they can afford it or not. So my "new" Strat had been handled quite a bit already. Since I'm a beginner I didn't know any better and just started learning and practicing. Lots of buzzing, which I assumed was my poor skills, which over time did improve a bit.

The setup on the guitar never looked right to me, even though I didn't know what "right" was supposed to look like. They had string 1 and 6 low, and all the others high. Eventually I made a few changes there, to give more of a rounded profile, but not much effect on playing or sound.

Today I bought a set of Super Slinkys, removed the original Fender Super Bullets, cleaned the fretboard, applied Graphit-All to the nut and tremolo posts, and strung it back up and tuned it. I lowered the action on all the strings to be a barely perceptible arc.

So who swapped out the guitar in my case for this one!!!??? It sounds and plays completely different! The tone is very crisp and bright, and buzzing reduced 99%. I can actually bend notes now without losing it on the release.

Major Newbie Lesson: If you buy a guitar off the rack in a store, change the strings that all the yahoos have been sweating on while dreaming about your axe.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...

Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
DeepRoots
Jun 24 2008, 09:50 AM