Epiphone Dot
El Marto
Apr 9 2011, 09:13 AM
GMC:er
Hi guys!

I'm El Marto. I was active here a couple of years (2, I guess) ago. And I played the guitar a lot. Then I moved to Ghent (Belgium) to go to university, and I didn't had that much time anymore to play sad.gif But since this year, I've been playing again! And I'm coming back to the best guitar community there is: GMC! biggrin.gif

And I already have a question: I'd like to buy a new guitar. And my eye fell on the Gibson ES-335. But since it's waaaaaay to expensive for me (I'm just a poor student...), I'm looking at the Epiphone Dot. Is this a good choice? Does anyone have any experience with this guitar?

Thanks a lot!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Marek Rojewski
Apr 9 2011, 09:26 AM
Experienced Guitar Lord
I heard quite a few times that buying an Epiphone is a lottery. It seems that their quality control is one of the most criticized. So I would advice not buying one, unless You can play it before purchase. Maybe try to buy an used Gibson?

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Apr 9 2011, 04:46 PM
Instructor
Hey mate.

If you are on a tight budget and want a hollow-body electric guitar similar to 335 design, then Epi Dot could be something to consider. I also want to suggest Ibanez AS73B, that is in the same price range:

As you are aware, the built quality and sound won't match Gibson ES-335, but you could get similar character out of these guitars, as they provide clear, direct, a bit nasal and "hollow" tone, associated with these guitars.