Pickup Modifications
Mertay
Jun 12 2013, 08:47 PM
GMC:er
Last month I spent a lot of time modifying my tonezone and air norton. I'm no expert but ready to help if anyone has questions plus always open for new modification ideas smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
pdf64
Jun 13 2013, 11:52 PM
I'm intrigued - what changes are you making?
Pete

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

+Quote Post
Mertay
Jun 14 2013, 01:31 AM
Well it took me sometime as I was new to it but after trying many things its finally done. Best is to experiment and the easyer ones are non-soldering;

The non-soldering option that first comes to my mind is turning around a humbucker if one coil is screw and other is flat. The flat one is more magnetic so turning it will have a minor but noticable effect, specially on harmonics. The change being good or bad really depends on the pickup. John petrucci used a flipped air-norton for a long time.

Slightly adjusting the height of screws adds detail to chords. I raised the screws that are under D and high E string since they are less magnetic. No dramatic effect, more like fine tune-ing.

If you want a tighter/more present sound, lower the pickup and raise all (or only bass side half) screws more than compared to fine tuning. It really makes a difference.

I heard some people swap screw poles with allen head ones for more power, I saw 1-2 like that on seymour duncan product range.