2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Scales And Shredding, Lost in the scale maze
jammer91
Oct 17 2007, 01:00 AM
GMC:er
Ive been playing guitar for 2 years and i barely know any scales (only 2 boxes of the pentatonic scale in the key of A).

The main reason i want to learn scales is to be able to shred fast and solo like this kid here....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsPddA6VJi4

Now im not really sure how to use scales, practice and play em.

Have no idea about the scale rules (like if we have to always stick to a key in a song, when can we switch modes etc)

Please help me (by posting links to lessons and explaining this complex stuff in a 2+2 format). I mainly want to be able to shred fast using scales.

Thanks

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Nov 10 2007, 12:27 AM) *
Part of the key to success is to never call yourself good...

My RIg:
-Epiphone 1967 FLying V
-Line 6 POD XT live
-VOX Valvetronics AD30VT
-Yamaha EG-112
-Yamaha GA-10
-Some Yamaha acoustic which is a magnet to dust under my bed

End World Hunger
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Oct 17 2007, 01:10 AM
Moderation Policy Director
To answer some of the theory questions, you could start here, then check out my various lessons on individual scales, the index is here.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon