Increase Bpm Speed, Frustrated :(
Twinbroz
Jul 16 2011, 02:20 AM
GMC:er
I've been playing for about almost 3 years now, and I take everything with practice, hard work and patience, but I feel its taking a bit long to speed up. What do you guys suggest to speed up most effectivly. I use economy picking and alternate picking, and circle pick instead of using my elbow/wrist to pick. I know people suggest the metronome game which I'm willing to do, but that takes a lot of patience. Exercises anyone?

Thanks in Advance! biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
zen
Jul 16 2011, 02:45 AM
Learning Tone Seeker
Firstly, welcome to gmc.

What's your current picking practice routine?
There are some good resources here that'll help you. But all you need is scales, 2nps, 3nps etc and break licks down and practice them in different picking patterns.

Stop chasing speed, instead try to become a fan of being accurate at a comfortable speed. You will be much happier and you'll see that your speed is also improving.

If you go nuts over achieving speed and take short-cuts, your shredding will sound shit.

I'm in the same boat. It can be frustrating for sure. So take it easy. Playing fast is not everything.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
"If the need is deep, you WILL find a way , if it isn't, you'll find some excuse"

Check out my Student Instructor Lesson on Metal Riffing HERE

Visit My Youtube Channel

+Quote Post
Twinbroz
Jul 16 2011, 03:05 AM