Blues Bending Issue, :lol:
Bluesberry
Mar 3 2010, 01:39 PM
Learning Roadie
Hey guys,

I'm a beginner guitar player, and recently I've started to get to know the blues (currently I'm being mentored by Ivan Milenkovich on the subject). I like to jam by myself, but mostly the problem is that I don't get the feeling into it. Alright, that's a matter of training and relaxing, I can tell that much.

Now, here's the issue. Once I really got to the blues feeling and I got excited bending hard the high e string. And just when I was reaching the climax... SHWAK! My string was cut, but not like they usually do (from one end or the other) but from the middle. What a mood killer. biggrin.gif But it was quite the sight, seeing my string broken like that. Guess there's a first time for everything.

Alright, changed the strings, as they were pretty old anyway, so today I was jamming with my acoustic guitar. And again I got the blues, so I got excited bending the g string. And again, reaching the climax... ... do I have to finish that sentence? Gosh.

So here I have made some deductions based on my experiences:

- Change your strings regularily.
- Do not get too excited bending the high e string.
- Do not get too excited bending the strings of an acoustic guitar.
- Do not time the climax of your solo so that it coincides with one or more of the above.
- If you start feeling that you have the blues, make sure that there's no way that one of the above might happen.

Otherwise you might end up feeling interrupted for the rest of the day.

- Kristian laugh.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Kristian Hyvarinen: Mar 3 2010, 01:40 PM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Ruzz
Mar 3 2010, 02:32 PM
Learning Rock Star