2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Floyd Rose Tilted Towards The Bottom
sammetal92
Jun 21 2013, 09:09 AM
GMC:er
I noticed this today when checking the action of the strings (factory setup) on my ESP M-II. The FR Bridge is tilted slightly towards the treble side and slants upward at the bass side. I called up the music store person and asked him about it, he told me to use the whammy for a dive bomb and pull up from it and check if it stays in tune. I did that and it was still in perfect tune. He said no need to worry about it, there's a slight tilt in almost all the FR Bridges.

The guy isn't as much experienced as I am with repairing guitars but since this is my first brand new guitar that costed me money from my scholarship, I'm scared of doing things like lowering/raising the action with the bridge under full tension (even though I have some experience with fixing floyd rose tremolos). All I ever did to my guitar was change the pickup height a few days ago. Maybe I'm just paranoid, but hey, the price on the thing was a lot for me, at least for now.

Pictures:

I drew a red line along the tilt just for more clarification:

Should I be worried about anything? Knife edges wearing off? Action problems? Playability? Sustain? Anything?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by sammetal92: Jun 21 2013, 03:54 PM

--------------------

Download my free guitar and Floyd Rose setup guide: http://www.samsguitars.tk/
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Mertay
Jun 21 2013, 09:37 AM
When removing the backplate of the guitar, you'll see the springs of the floyd and 2 big screws holding those springs which are connecting the the body.