"weak Spots" How To Get Rid Of Them?
Alex Feather
Feb 14 2012, 05:09 PM
Instructor
Hey guys! I have heard musicians talking about weak spots for a while now and decided to make a little post about getting rid of them!
Well first of all there is no such thing as a weak spot! If it is weak means you haven't been practicing it long enough and haven't mastered it yet! Some people can get it faster than you, but it doesn't mean that it's weak! You just need more time!
When I started playing guitar I've been told to quit music because I had too many "Weak Spots" and just couldn't get it! Even my teacher were telling me to quit and do something else! It encouraged me even more! I spent many hours practicing guitar and proud of what I achieved! Just keep doing it, because practice makes perfect and if you have a clear goal in your mind you will get there!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Dinaga
Feb 14 2012, 07:43 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Great thread Alex!
I admire you for enduring all that! I can't believe a TEACHER told you to give up! He is the one who should be giving up because he obviously failed in his profession. And look at you now, you rock! Respect, mate!

And about flaws... oooh I had a ton! I got rid of some but still have some. However I'm aware of them and will try to resolve smile.gif

Here are some flaws I got rid of:
- Playing power chord riffs with upstrokes - now I use downstrokes for obvious reasons (more natural and easier, gives better "chug" sound, provides the ability to palm mute etc.)
- Not using regular alternate picking and mixing it with sweep picking in some situations (for example, while playing a scale from higher to lower string)