What Mic Should I Get For Recording?, Capturing sound from guitar amps
thefireball
Feb 11 2011, 02:55 AM
Learning Roadie
Hello!

I have never considered this before, but I started considering it today. I was riffing through my Vox VT 30 with Jackson and I was thinking, "POD Farm is cool, but sometimes I might wanna record the sound of this amp. I would need a mic. But I don't know what mic to get or what equipment I would need to record it. Where would I start?"

I thought I would present this to GMC community. Perhaps you can ask questions and give me advice that would help give me somewhat of a clear direction. I have no knowledge of this. I have always used the camera's mic or recorded directly line-in.

Thanks, GMC!

-Brandon

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
dark dude
Feb 11 2011, 03:43 AM
GMC:er
I don't know much on this topic, I'm sure there are more experienced people here, but I'll start off.

You need an interface between the mic and the PC/laptop, such as http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrack.html.

As for mics, the Shure SM57 seems to be a popular choice: http://www.shure.com/americas/products/mic...ment-microphone.

I'd opt for this myself, but it's more expensive than using the Pod GX and you'd need to have a well set-up environment to get a great capture with the mic.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Ibanez 2550E
LTD EC-1000 VB
Roland Cube 30W

+Quote Post
JamesT
Feb 11 2011, 03:49 AM
Accomplished Tone Master
SM57