Pick Thickness, :O
Murloc
May 25 2009, 08:21 PM
Learning Roadie
Hey guys

I am a beginner and I am playing with a 2mm thick pick (which is pretty thick, right?). I would like to hear some about what the positive sides is what a thick pick and what thats negative, I wouldnt like to make a bad habit of playing with thick picks if they are no good. ohmy.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
May 25 2009, 08:27 PM
Learning Tone Master
Personal preferance, nothing more nothing less...

Some like thick ppcks because they don't bend and therefore sound more direct, other like thin picks because you can achieve diffrent sounds from your picking attack. It's the same with pointy or non pointy picks...

Just try out as many as possible and play the one that suits you best there are no advantages or disadvantages

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

+Quote Post
Red
May 25 2009, 08:28 PM
GMC:er
Everyone likes different picks, if 2 mm works for you then it's nothing to worry about.
But I suppose you could try out a lot of different picks to see which one that suits you the best smile.gif

--------------------