Jazz Blues Progression
Velvet Roger
May 17 2009, 02:21 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Jazz Blues Progression

Introduction

Hey guys, this is my 3rd S.I. video lesson. My name is Roger, am 33 years old and living in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. I've been playing the guitar seriously for almost 2 years now (with also some less serious playing back when I was 16-17). Besides playing the guitar, I have always been involved in playing music (piano, keyboards, drums), which certainly is helpful for rhythmic feeling etc. About 5 months ago I started my own band together with two other persons, which gives a nice boost in my playing abilities as well.

I hope you will like my 3rd S.I. video lesson.

Structure

1. About the lesson
2. Introduction
3. The lesson
4. How to implement the lesson
5. Last words

1. About the lesson

This lesson is primarily aimed towards those who would like to gain knowledge on the following aspects:

- Advanced chords & use of tensions
- Blues progressions

2. Introduction

Today, we are going to explore a Jazz Blues progression, which is somewhat different compared to the standard I – IV – V 12 bar blues progression you all probably know.

I have chosen to play it for this lesson in the key of A (A, B, C#, D, E, F#, G#, A) using some more advanced chords with tensions in order to make it more jazzy and have more variations in it.

The progression looks like this (in brackets the number of measures are shown):

I (1) - IV (1) - I (2) - IV (2) - I (1) - VI (1) - II (1) - V (1) - I (1/2) - VI (1/2) - II (1/2) - V (1/2) - I (2)

3. The lesson

Video 1: complete progression with backing
I am using fingerpicking for this lesson, in a constant straightforward pattern together with the neck pickup to make the sound more smooth. Try to be as relaxed as possible to increase the smoothness even further.

In this last part of the progression no new chords are used.