Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dreading Work Tomorrow
Phil66
post Aug 11 2019, 08:29 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I am really not looking forward to work tomorrow. On Friday morning I switched on my computer by my machine, it wouldn't open up my database located on the server, it said "Unrecognisable format", I tried again, same result, reboot same result. All of my databases are backed up to three locations AND locally on my hard drive so that if the server dies I can still get to my stuff. The same thing happened with the local files.

I logged onto another workstation to try there, at that point one of the lads said "Phil, my shortcuts are saying "location unavailable or location moved", then another lad said the same, then another lad said "Phil, all of my CNC programs have the words "No more ransom" after them and they won't open.

Long story short, the server did a backup over night and got infected with some malware, anyone who logged on that morning got all of the modified files. Luckily our general manager came in late, I had disconnected his computer from the server so he still had a clean backup from late Friday afternoon (it backs up any changed files every half hour or so).

Tomorrow the company that looks after our server and all IT is coming in but it looks like a long day possibly into the night with big headaches mad.gif sad.gif


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 11 2019, 08:59 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 18.870
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Lame!! Sounds like the wannacry virus got in somehow and locked everything down. Ransomware is an awful thing. Some folks are moving to stand alone internal networks for work related stuff and have an entirely separate computer for connecting to the world. Cross contamination still happens with USB drives and such, leading some folks to remove all the ports on machines connected to critical stuff. NSA does does this sort of thing but man it makes work a HUGE pain. Getting anything inside the separate network takes approval off the onsite admin. Needless to say it slows things down to a crawl for production work.

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Aug 11 2019, 03:29 PM) *
I am really not looking forward to work tomorrow. On Friday morning I switched on my computer by my machine, it wouldn't open up my database located on the server, it said "Unrecognisable format", I tried again, same result, reboot same result. All of my databases are backed up to three locations AND locally on my hard drive so that if the server dies I can still get to my stuff. The same thing happened with the local files.

I logged onto another workstation to try there, at that point one of the lads said "Phil, my shortcuts are saying "location unavailable or location moved", then another lad said the same, then another lad said "Phil, all of my CNC programs have the words "No more ransom" after them and they won't open.

Long story short, the server did a backup over night and got infected with some malware, anyone who logged on that morning got all of the modified files. Luckily our general manager came in late, I had disconnected his computer from the server so he still had a clean backup from late Friday afternoon (it backs up any changed files every half hour or so).

Tomorrow the company that looks after our server and all IT is coming in but it looks like a long day possibly into the night with big headaches mad.gif sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 11 2019, 09:32 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Yeah we discussed isolating thing but the production schedule showing due dates, what stage in production things are at etc needs to be viewed by all operators with different levels of what can be seen, also the operating systems need updating regularly etc.

I've just ordered a second lap top for accessing the server and the Internet and my engineering stuff will be on an isolated laptop. It will still be a ball ache because as I complete each batch of components I record it on an excel database and copy & paste the info into an email to the people that answer the phones so it's in their head and easier than keep opening up the production schedule. Have to be done manually now ffs.

Want the wanna cry virus in 2017? We have Avast Business AV which I would have thought would have old stuff covered.

This post has been edited by Phil66: Aug 11 2019, 09:34 PM


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 11 2019, 10:23 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 18.870
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Good plan. Making your own stand alone system is a good idea. That way, even if the network is compromised, your laptop is an island unto itself. Just don't use it for email, web browsing et. Turn off network access unless it's needed for something then turn it back off. Just having your own isolated laptop can save you a lot of headache.
Wanna Cry was just sorta the brand name for a raft of ransomware. It's become like "google" which went from a brand name to a verb meaning "to search on online". New ransomware is being released every day. The anti thread software will always struggle to keep up with the threats. The only way to be truly protected from infection is to keep ones wick out of the wax as it were smile.gif Or have a backup wick that stays out of the wax like your new laptop.

If the files were changed to say the ransom date had passed, someone may have gotten the warning screen at some point. That softwares entire point is to extract money. Sometimes they unlock the files. Sometimes they don't and just ask for more money.
Gabe got hit by a ransom virus a bit back. I remember when it was going around quite a bit.


QUOTE (Phil66 @ Aug 11 2019, 04:32 PM) *
Yeah we discussed isolating thing but the production schedule showing due dates, what stage in production things are at etc needs to be viewed by all operators with different levels of what can be seen, also the operating systems need updating regularly etc.

I've just ordered a second lap top for accessing the server and the Internet and my engineering stuff will be on an isolated laptop. It will still be a ball ache because as I complete each batch of components I record it on an excel database and copy & paste the info into an email to the people that answer the phones so it's in their head and easier than keep opening up the production schedule. Have to be done manually now ffs.

Want the wanna cry virus in 2017? We have Avast Business AV which I would have thought would have old stuff covered.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 12 2019, 06:32 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I'll let you know how it goes.


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 12 2019, 08:11 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Well, it's coming in at around £2000 at the moment, he says four days to install three new hard drives into the server, disinfect all workstations, upgrade any computers that are running XP or lower to Win10, set up the network and test. He normally charges £400 per day but is doing it for £300 per day, and has capped it to four days, if it goes over there will be no extra charge.

When we first installed the server it took around three days to get it all installed with the emails and the drive mapping to 10 workstations etc so it doesn't seem too bad.

On top of that, I've ordered another laptop for me so I'll have one connected to the server and one isolated, a 500gb external drive to back it up and a box of 16gb USB sticks for internal use only including visitors like the accountant who likes to have a backup of the accounts. We will also have to replace any computers that can't handle Win10, all of the computers except for three just connect to the server, they don't have internet or email access.

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Aug 12 2019, 08:31 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 4.307
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Ouch, well at some point the tech has to be re-newed but with an occasion like this it really sucks.

After all these are done, maybe you guys should consider a specialist visiting every 6 months or year to inspect and update if needed to avoid something like this ever happening again.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 12 2019, 09:28 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Well we pay this guy for a service contract to look after things for us, his company also fitted our cctv, our general manager's cctv and one of the other director's cctv, so he does look after us. Our general manager knows quite a lot about computers and networking but can be a little too frugal trying to save money.

I'm going to ask about a three tier backup, grand parent > parent > child rather than the single update that we currently do now. We currently use SyncBack but could do with one that can do an intelligent tiered backup, you have schedule over 7 days in SyncBack which isn't helpful with three tiers on individual drives.

Cheers

Phil

This post has been edited by Phil66: Aug 13 2019, 06:31 AM


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 13 2019, 12:44 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 18.870
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Yes. Any modern business should have Primary, Secondary, Tertiary and even Quaternary backup. The first two are often local, the third and fourth are off site, cloud based through different vendors. The fourth tier should be a one way backup. E.G. Files only travel outbount to the server unless the admin approves otherwise. That way at least one tier does not automatically act bidirectionally and risk cross contamination.

I worked in I.T. for several years and at Turner Broadcasting I was in charge of data wrangling all the digtial assets which represented thousands of hours of work. This was with far less technology available when we were still burning data CDs which took forever. I'm glad you guys have a plan and it sounds like things should be ok. Glad you are getting your stand alone laptop!!
Todd
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Aug 12 2019, 04:28 PM) *
Well we play this guy for a service contract to look after things for us, his company also fitted our cctv, our general manager's cctv and one of the other director's cctv, so he does look after us. Our general manager knows quite a lot about computers and networking but can be a little too frugal trying to save money.

I'm going to ask about a three tier backup, grand parent > parent > child rather than the single update that we currently do now. We currently use SyncBack but could do with one that can do an intelligent tiered backup, you have schedule over 7 days in SyncBack which isn't helpful with three tiers on individual drives.

Cheers

Phil


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Aug 13 2019, 12:45 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 13 2019, 06:31 AM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Cheers Todd.

I had forgotten, our GM did do a manual two tiered backup to external hard drives which he keeps at home.

Phil

This post has been edited by Phil66: Aug 13 2019, 10:43 AM


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 14 2019, 08:39 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 18.870
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



A man after my own heart smile.gif I would carry a portable drive home from work every day and have it auto backup to another drive. That way even if all my work drives died at once, I still had a cloud backup and one drive at home.

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Aug 13 2019, 01:31 AM) *
Cheers Todd.

I had forgotten, our GM did do a manual two tiered backup to external hard drives which he keeps at home.

Phil

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 17 2019, 08:24 PM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6.720
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Well it's finally up and running, need some new data transfer software for some of the CNC machines as the computers were running XP and now all are Win10.

Many creases to iron out so a few more headaches and we'll be good.


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2019 - 03:41 AM