Completely New, I just started and wanted to ask some questions not covered in lessons
Jared
Aug 12 2007, 03:18 AM
GMC:er
Hey, first off, this site kicks ass.

Second, I'm completely new so I want to make sure I don't develop any bad habits.

I'm trying to make sure not to palm the neck and come straight down with my fingers but I'm still getting use to it.

When I play, I tend to always look at the strings I'm picking. Is this good or bad? Should I not look at anything or at fingering the notes?

When I look at the notes I need to play it seems to slow me down. If I don't look at the strings I miss them sometimes. Will I start getting muscle memory on where the strings are?

I'm working on the scales right now. I'm still kinda confused on how to incoporate those into the tabs an such but I JUST started playing electric like 2 days ago and played a little acoustic with no formal training before that.

I figure I'll just get it to where I can run up and down the scales real well without making almost any mistakes then I can start messing with them. It's the mechanical way, I know, but you can't improvise stuff you don't know.

Thanks for the help and I hope I have this in the right place.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
If you expect a kick in the balls and get a slap in the face, consider it a victory.

My setup (just started):
ESP LTD MH-100QMNT
Fender Champ 30W (used)

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 3)
fire
Aug 12 2007, 03:46 AM
Hi & welcome to gmc, I hope you have a good time!

To answer your first question: it's completly okay if you put your palm on the neck, but you mustn't mute the string(s) you're playing with ( exception: you're using the palm muting technique ).