New Amp?, blackstar ht20 head or 5150 combo
KidKillIt
Nov 6 2011, 02:11 PM
GMC:er
I currently have a 5150 combo amp recently i was offered a blackstar ht20 studio head in trade I dont know to much about blackstar ive looked into it a little but im not sure if this particular head will have the balls for a small club what do you think?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
Nov 6 2011, 04:15 PM
The stats on the 5150 is a 2x12 200w tube combo amp correct?

Because the Blackstar is I believe a 20w tube amp no speakers. So you'd have to buy a cab if you don't already have one.

I'm not experienced in Blackstar I've never played on one but when I've heard them in person they seem more british rock tones. I do know that my local music store doesn't really have high-end amps to play with, but for testing guitars the Peavey 6505+ Combo is where I head to test. I believe its your combo just redesigned and an extra tube in it.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez XPT700 (Chameleon) , Sterling J Richardson Signature , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)
Gear:
Neural DSP Plugins

My YouTube Page.

+Quote Post
MickeM
Nov 7 2011, 11:49 AM
Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
The blackstar will be on the limit. You will be heard, but more subtle.

Either way, concidering the amps and what they are. It sounds to me that other guy will be at the winning end of that trade. Hands down.

+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
Nov 7 2011, 01:48 PM
Learning Tone Master
Keep the 5150 combo!

--------------------

Gear: