Funk Rhythms/chords
Siggum
Jul 15 2008, 06:17 PM
GMC:er
Hello GMC,

I am back with another lesson, this one is about

Funk Rhythms

Attached Image

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short info about me:

My name is Sigge Bjerkhof, im 29 years old living in Copenhagen, Denmark. Ive been playing music since i was 16 years old, i lost interrest in music for 6-7 years, but joining GMC made me want to play music again:)
I primarily like funk, jazz and rock music but i can enjoy a good metal shred as well now and then

Now lets get started :

I composed this little tune for my lesson, it contains some funky chords but also some regular chords.
Before we go to the main video i would like to write a few words about this lesson, it can be played both with a pick and without a pick using your fingers. I have choosen to use my point finger, as i feel like it gives me more control when muting the strings.

If your only used to playing with a pick its certainly possible as well, here you have some video examples of the basic right and left hand technique used in this lesson, note that i used a pick in the example, but in the main video's i used my finger.

Left hand technique: Attached File  Lefthand.mpg ( 2.94MB ) Number of downloads: 2763

The main thing here is to hammer-on the chords using your fingers while holding a barre as shown in the video.

Right hand technique: Attached File  Righthand.mpg ( 3.64MB ) Number of downloads: 1848

The most impordant technique when playing rhythm funk is to constantly pick up and down the strings, you also have to mute the strings when you arent playing any chords, it might take some practice to combine the two techniques but once you got it down its really fun smile.gif

Lets go to the main video...