Schecter Or Ibanez
Raph
Jul 29 2009, 04:31 PM
GMC:er
OK, so here's the deal...

My b-day is coming up soon and now I want to get a really good guitar to "compliment" my cheap Strat....haha

Anyways, I'm a guitarist on a budget, so I can only spend £200 around (around $420).

I have two guitars in mind, an Ibanez GRG270B and a Schecter Diamond Series Sunset FR Deluxe.

I've read reviews about them saying they're both pretty good workhorses (my ideal guitar), but there are negatives to them too (the Ibanez has an Edge III bridge, the Schecter's pickups suck etc.)

Anyways, which guitar do you think has more value for money?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Raph: Jul 29 2009, 04:32 PM

--------------------
Yesterday my fastest speed was 300 bpm - on a whole note exercise.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
jafomatic
Jul 29 2009, 04:43 PM
That's a pretty tough call. I'm not as familiar with Schecter's naming conventions but the Ibanez models with "G" in front are "Generic" or "General" or such. Similar, though not as poor quality, as Squier is to the Fender name.

I have an old GAX that was extremely inexpensive and played beautifully, but I haven't personally tested any others in that "G" line.

If they're similar in price, I'd also venture a guess that perhaps "Diamond" is Schecters affordable alternative as well? Again, that's if they're similar in price.

Ultimately the safest thing to do at that price range is look for commonly occurring defects by searching online and play the things yourself in the store if you can.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
::jafomatic