Greetings From Lurgen
Lurgen
Apr 23 2007, 01:36 AM
GMC:er
Hi all!

I'm just a newbie, having picked up my first guitar just a few months ago. I've wanted to play pretty much all my life, but due to pressure from work and family just didn't have the option of doing it. Now I'm in my early thirties and decided it was time to just do what I wanted with my life. So I bought a cheap guitar. Nothing fancy, just an SX strat-clone.

I played the SX daily for about a month before realising I stood a vague chance of actually learning how to play properly! Talk about a shock! So I set myself some basic objectives, and lined myself up with a nice juicy reward. If I could play a song, end to end, that a casual observer could (at least vaguelly) recognise I'd take the guitar thing seriously and buy a decent axe.

Sure enough, two weeks later I was playing a couple of Pink Floyd songs well enough to impress my friends. When one recognised the song without being prompted, I splashed out and bought the guitar I had really wanted from the start - a Fender Highway One. And a decent amp of course smile.gif

Since then I've played daily, adding a steel-string accoustic to my collection to strengthen my fingers some more. The guitar has taken over a huge part of my life, replacing other hobbies in some cases. It's a very positive thing, as it is something I can do while still being in the same room as my wife.

I'm not particularly good yet, but as Kris correctly points out hard work can take you a hell of a long way. Hard work doesn't scare me.

You'll probably see me post a lot, I'm full of opinions and like to be heavily involved where possible, but always bear in mind that with less than 4 months training behind me I'm just a beginner.