Diy Guitar Building Project
Beat Zbinden
Mar 5 2021, 05:17 PM
Experienced Tone Seeker
Todd advised me to write this report.

Inspired by Darius Wave, I also wanted to build an electric guitar myself. I am a trained electrician. Has been on the road as a service technician for years and has worked in maintenance for a food company for the last 4 years. So my professional career has nothing to do with guitar making. In my free time, however, I always worked with wood a little. I've done a lot from remote-controlled model airplanes to self-made kite surfboards. My workshop is also set up relatively well.
I then bought the book by Martin Koch (E-Guitar Maker) and more or less learned it by heart….
The bigger problem was where I can get the wood from. In Switzerland there is this strict CITES regulation (cites.org). It is very difficult to import all woods that are endangered by "extinction".
Then I found the company tonewood.ch and swisswoodsolutions.ch. I then ordered the wood from these companies.
At Stewmac.com I bought one or the other tools, stencils and accessories.
So far I've built two guitars.
The necks are made of maple
The body is once spruce and maple top and once ash with ash top. All woods are thermally treated. This makes them more of a caramel color.
The wood is raw. It still has to be trained and planed. The body and neck were milled using templates. Body is in two parts.
The neck was taped together with a scarf joint. This means that the grain direction is retained.
The typical neck breaking of Gibson guitars should be avoided.
The fingerboard is also completely self-made. Fret slots were also sawn with a jig and template. Fingerboard ground to radius. Glued to the neck and then bent, press-fitted and straightened frets.
There are special milling cutters with the correct dimensions for bindings. These are glued with acetone.
Milling for electronics, pickups and the neck pocket were also made with templates.
The neck and body are glued.