Shaving The Neck
sigma7
May 17 2008, 03:42 PM
GMC:er
hey gmc'ers, I was wonder if it is possible to shave a neck down to a thinner size? smile.gif Like, I have a Fender Mexican Strat 60th ann. but I want the neck to be the size of a wizard. Is it possible without screwing the guitar up?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
at lights end
May 17 2008, 03:47 PM
should be.
there's a possibility that you might have to adjust the truss rod a bit, depends how much you shave off i suppose.
im no professional though, so don't just take my word for it.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by at lights end: May 17 2008, 03:48 PM

--------------------
“You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.”

+Quote Post
JVM
May 17 2008, 04:20 PM
Learning Roadie
I wouldn't think it'd be a good idea, to do so precisely and evenly all over the neck would be a very hard task I would think, if you wanted it done by a professional (which would probably be a good idea) I'm imagining a price that would make it more economic to just buy a new guitar or neck. But then again, I'm no professional either.

--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.

+Quote Post
Marcus Siepen
May 17 2008, 09:15 PM
Instructor (Blind Guardian)
I also think that getting a new neck would be the better, faster, safer and most likely cheaper option.

--------------------
Guitars: various Gibson Les Pauls / Gibson J 45
Amps: Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier / Triaxis / 2:90 Poweramp / Rectocabs