Career In Music
badfingers93
Jun 11 2011, 10:32 AM
GMC:er
Hello good people of GMC biggrin.gif I have been studying for almost two years in a music course. Basically, i want to know more about how working in the industry really is. To make it easier, i have prepared several questions.

Hopefully any of you "industry practitioners" out there who have experience and knowledge of the music business would be willing enough to share some thoughts and insights. Thanks biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by badfingers93: Jun 17 2011, 11:08 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
Saoirse O'Shea
Jun 11 2011, 11:13 AM
Moderator - low level high stakes
QUOTE (badfingers93 @ Jun 11 2011, 10:32 AM) *
Hello good people of GMC biggrin.gif I have been studying for almost two years in a music and audio technology course. Basically, i want to know more about how the career of a "mix engineer" really is in the industry. To make it easier, i have prepared several questions.

a) Scope of work this area comprises

A mix engineer would ideally mix the indivdual tracks/stems together after tracking to produce the stereo main and subs prior to mastering. Ideally they will not track/record or do any mastering or post.

I say ideally as very often people refer to a mix engineer and assume that it includes other aspects of the process such as tracking/recording and mastering or even FoH live and post. It's also not helped as some mix engineers also get involved in or do tracking/recording and/or mastering.

cool.gif Any hierarchy or structure within this area

ranges from amateurs/project and home studios through to professional multi room.

c) Salary Range across this hierarchy/structure