I Need Some Help ;)
ChrisVdS
Oct 8 2008, 06:49 PM
GMC:er
Hey guys,

I'm practicing to switch betwen chords smootly the G D and C chords but i'm having some problems with it can anyone give me some pointers please??

2 weeks ago i signed up for group lessons and i need to be able to do the chord switching smooth in 2 weeks so i can go on to the next group wink.gif

Anyways thanks in advance

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Gear:

Fender "California series" stratocaster
Roland Cube 20X
Peavey Envoy 110
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 7)
Jose Mena
Oct 8 2008, 07:05 PM
Instructor
You are talking about the basic chord shapes?, with these you will need time, when I started playing these I had trouble with the changes too, as a matter of fact if I learn a new weird shape It would take some time to learn how to go to it quick.

This is what helps me:

I try to figure out finger by finger how much they have to move, for instance lets say you are going from a G to a D, look at the movements by finger, the index finger will move from 5th string second fret to 3rd string second fret, the middle finger will move from 6th string 3rd fret to 1st string second fret, and the ring finger will stay were it is. So it isn't necessary to take your hand completely of the fretboard to do this change, it is really a matter of getting used to it, but analyzing things helps

good luck

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace

+Quote Post
ChrisVdS
Oct 8 2008, 07:19 PM
okay i will try that

thank you Jose smile.gif