2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Hi Im Paul In Torquay England, Yngwie fan new user to GMC
carpathian Etude
Dec 2 2009, 11:23 PM
GMC:er
Hi Dudes Im paul I live in Torquay inDevon South West England
I have been Playing Guitar for about 20 years .......BUT I have mainly been playing songs( open/barre chord stuff)
as I guess I did not have the confidence to play the stuff I love which is neoclassical and metal, recently though I have revised my
opinion of myself after practising harmonic minor scales up and down in 3s and 4s in the summer I figured I might be able to play the music I love.

Since then Ive been learning Yngwie type stuff harmonic minor, and phrygian dominant, sweep arpeggios diminshed 7th arpeggios
Im a bit slow but Im hoping with lots of practise I can shred and write some stuff of my own maybe.

Ive learned a bit of theory like building triads from scales, modes of major scale and harmonic minor i sort of understand the basics a bit moe now, I never thought I would but somehow after all these years a bit of reading and it clicked, well enough for me to make some sense of music.

I think Yngwie is great and I just got a japanese yngwie strat circa 97 I also have a LTD (esp) ex260 which is very easy to play even with power slinky 11s. I love my yngwie strat though and it is now my main guitar, I also have a epiphone Les paul with 'not even slinky' 12's on it tuned to drop C for brutal riffage hehe i t was left to me by my uncle who was a keen guitarist.

I also love metal especially scandinavian melodic death/power/symphonic metal my fave bands are children of bodom, skyfire,insomnium, eternal tears of sorrow, dark tranquility, norther, wintersun, nightwish and similar bands.

I am mainly on here though to build up my neoclassical chops I have seen some lessons on here already (neoclassical etude no 1 by Marcus lavendall ( I learned the first free bit already (slowly though probably about 80bpm)

My fave shredders are Yngwie and Joe Stump, Dean cascione is good too.