How do i improvise
Kevin98497
Aug 21 2006, 10:15 PM
GMC:er
Hey people, i learnt most of the riffs on the video lessons thing, but i still cant just pick up the guitar and make things up as i play. Can i have a few tips on making things up as i play please :?:

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
chipk1
Aug 22 2006, 02:42 AM
QUOTE (kevin-riff-after-riff)
Hey people, i learnt most of the riffs on the video lessons thing, but i still cant just pick up the guitar and make things up as i play. Can i have a few tips on making things up as i play please  :?:

I have been playing for about 22 years but only started trying to learn lead solo stuff for about 1 year. I am only now starting to understand improvising.

First, thing I would do is learn your Am pentatonic scale. I have found that your can use it in many songs by just adjusting to the current cord root being played and just beat around in that scale. This will help give you a basic area to play around with on the fret board and be generally in tune to the song.

Also pratice chromatic scales to help with speed and finger placement accuracy.

Also try to learn all the riffs you can. Goto sites like guitartabs.cc and pickout songs you like and try to learn them.

And finally practice, practice, practice. If found that when I finaly decided to learn lead/solo guitar and stuck with it by practicing at least 2 hours a day (sometimes 3 or 4 hours) for the last year, I started to get results. It first you will feel like you are getting nowhere but one day you will look back and say "damn I can play now."