2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Could My String Gauge Be Hindering Progress?, and what about gauge = certain tuning?
Wilska
May 1 2009, 06:33 PM
GMC:er
I have a question about string gauge.. I don't have a great understanding of all the aspects that the string gauge impacts. But I wonder if my string gauge could be hindering me. A few years ago I played the guitar a lot and made a lot of progress and could play some pretty advanced stuff, then there were a few years when I didn't play very much guitar at all. 2 years or so ago I started playing more again and the last year i've been playing more than ever. However i've been trying some different string gauges and for the last year or so i've been using GHS Boomers 10-52. Now I seem to be stuck and suddenly it feels like my strings are to stiff and feel clumsy, even tho i've never felt that way before about these same strings. How much does string gauge affect tone really? I love the tone I get from thicker strings but maybe they are a little too thick?

Also, what are your thoughts about string gauge and certain tunings? I have a feeling 10-52 string gauges are more for lower tunings? I'm tuned to Eb always.

Any thoughts? If you want it would be nice to know what gauge everyone uses and if you've just stuck to the first size you started playing on or of you've experimented with gauge.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
------ Wilska's Gear ------

Guitars: Gibson Flying V Faded '67, ESP Ltd Alexi 600, Jackson Kelly KE3
Pickups: SD Blackout, Emg 81/85
Amp: Krank Rev Jr Pro
Effects: Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah, Digitech Hardwire CM-2, Digitech Hardwire DL-8, MXR Phase 90
Recording: Blackstar HT-DistX, Line6 Pod X3 Live
Pick: Dunlop Jazz III XL black, Dunlop Ultex Sharp 1.14 and 1.40
Strings: GHS Boomers 10-52, Rotosound 10-46