Total Frustration!
jammer91
Jun 30 2007, 09:23 PM
GMC:er
Hi,

Im sorta pissed off right now. Ive been playing guitar for 2 years and cant create much shreds or solos (thats cause ive been listening and playing punk rock all this while and have just joined a metal band).

I know my techniques and stuff right, but i just dont understand theory. I need to know theory to create lead stuff. Im like totally lost!!! I dont understand the real difference between a scale and a mode, when our lead guitarist tells me to play in a key im like WHAT? Sadly now the lead guitarist has left and im all alone stuck with a drummer and vocalist with high expectations!

Can you guys post some lessons in order of difficulty that tell you how to USE and play scales and things like that (mainly for making metal songs)?

A question thats really been bugging me about scales is that do we always have to play the notes in the same order that its in the box?

Do we need scales to make songs?

What are some good scales or modes for metal (links would be appreciated)?

I saw Andrew's key and chord lesson but how do we use that with power chords?

Please help me out, i need to fix my problem within wednesday (i have to make a song by then and tommorow is gone since im getting my report cards and im dead!).

Thanks a lot for trying to help me out guys, i know i have loads if questions and theyre really time consuming to read and answer...

Note: Please ignore spelling errors and stuff as im typing fast under stress

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Nov 10 2007, 12:27 AM) *
Part of the key to success is to never call yourself good...

My RIg:
-Epiphone 1967 FLying V
-Line 6 POD XT live
-VOX Valvetronics AD30VT
-Yamaha EG-112
-Yamaha GA-10