Zakk Wylde Emgs...
Spock
Feb 12 2014, 12:59 AM
GMC:er
Got these and am so excited!

I hope they will make me play like Zakk!

Anyway - I had posted, a year ago, about selling my silver PRS. Since then, I started playing it and it is now my "go-to" guitar, so I am going to hot-rod it with these active pick-ups.

Attached Image

Also having the guitar reset - intonation, make sure the bridge stays rested on the body, lowering the action and taking off the 5 position pup dial and replacing it with a 3-way switch.

I typically use Boomer or Elixir 10-46, and suppose I will stick with those, but am contemplating going with 10 - 50, little more chunk on the top, but not as much squelch.

It will be like a brand new guitar.

BTW - concerning my Marshall JVM mishap - it stopped working. The new tubes sound awesome. I didn't realize that tubes should be replaced about every 2 to 3 years - or if you're a weekly gigging musician - every year. The guy said my tubes were black, and I had been playing them for 5 to 6 years - so, got my money's worth out of them.

But these new tubes sound sound round and warm, and the deterioration of the original tubes was so gradual - that I never heard the difference until I got the new tubes.

So - what do you guys think about strings that have a 60 gauge on the top?

Attached Image

I don't think I have the courage for these.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Feb 12 2014, 06:36 AM
Congrats! smile.gif I had the KERRY KING EMG set in a guitar of mine (a Minarik Lotus) and they sure did RAWWWWWKKKKK. smile.gif

Record something when you get them in so we can hear!

Todd

QUOTE (Spock @ Feb 11 2014, 06:59 PM) *
Got these and am so excited!

I hope they will make me play like Zakk!