Metalconcepts, A simple lesson with basic metal concepts
Ulrik
Apr 28 2009, 08:33 PM
Learning Rock Star
I came up with this little riff last week, and I just had to record it, so I did that today.
Then I was inspired by all the great lessons here at GMC, and I wanted to create a lesson myself.
There is nothing in it that a total beginner wouldn't be able to play in a short time, but it still covers a lot of topics.

Palm muting
Harmonics
Pinch Harmonics
Octaves
Tapping
Hammer-ons
Pull-offs
(Look up these subjects if you are not familiar with them)

[attachment=15349:MetalConcepts.mp3]

I put a backing track here too, if anyone wants to try and play it.

[attachment=15350:MetalCon...sBacking.mp3]

Here is the first couple of lines:

---PMPM PM PM PM
e------------------------
B------------------------
G------------------------ Palm muting is used here, right hand is used to mute strings (If you are not playing left handed)
D------------------------
A--2---------------------
E--0--0----0----0----0-

e------------------
B------------------
G------------------ Harmonics on every note, touch the string gently, without pressing it down.
D------------------ On the fifth and fourth fret your finger must touch nearest to the guitar body.
A------------------ On the third fret you have to touch closer to the guitar head to produce the right sound
E--(5)--(4)--(3)--

e------------
B-----------
G--<7>\2-- Here we've got the first pinch harmonic. Immediately after the string is picked your thumb
D----------- has to strike the string too. Picking direction is down and to the right. Add some vibrato by
A----------- bending the string slightly up and down. The sound will depend on where you pick with the thumb.
E----------- The ending is a slow slide towards the guitar head.

That's all for now, this was the riff I came up with last week.
If anyone want's other parts tabbed, I'll do it all for free laugh.gif