Queries Regarding Control
arunven1
Jun 10 2009, 04:44 AM
GMC:er
Hello Ivan,

I Arun, am a student from Asia.

Lately, I have been playing simple solos and riffs of music composed by bands like Led Zepplin (like Stairway to heaven) which are primarily blues based (in a way that they exhaustively make use of the pentatonic and blues scales) . Based on this, I had assumed that my playing fell under the intermediate level. In an attempt to gain some control and the feel of the blues I started practicing the 'Blues soloing intermediate lesson' posted by you.

In the lesson, I'm facing some difficulties in the following areas:

1) First of, I am not able to gain enough sustain between the notes, so the basic feel you produce while playing the licks is lost. By the way, I don't use a delay. Do you use one? Do you think I should use one?

2) Secondly, while playing licks which contain grouped notes, for example in the very first lick of that lesson, I tend to lose control of the lick immediately after I play those grouped notes. By grouped notes, I mean notes on different strings played together and sometimes bent together.

As I don't have a video camera, I'm unable to post a video of my playing. However, I could upload an audio file of the licks I'm facing difficulty in, if you feel that my query is not clear enough.

Thanks for your time,

Arun

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jun 14 2009, 01:48 PM
Instructor
It's pretty clear thanks! smile.gif