Tone Tips For A Complete Newbie
Marek Rojewski
Jun 22 2015, 09:27 AM
Experienced Guitar Lord
Hi again venerable GMC'ers.

On my recent REC takes, my tone has been criticised (and rightly so) but I don't really understand what I should do to improve it unsure.gif

My gear experience is very limited, 90% of time, I play my guitar connected to my computer via Line6 Toneport GX, and 10% used my small cheap amp. Concerning Line6 Toneport - I always used presets downloaded from the Internet and rarely tried to change anything in them.
When playing in a band situation, used only my amp with build in four effects, called metal / override / distortion / metal 2.

Do you have any tips for a person that has 0 experience with "tone making" other than sit down with your guitar and start manipulating all the controls possible? The number of possibilities is so big that I always felt overwhelmed by it.

Maybe you have some GMC lesson suggestions or Youtube links that could introduce a "tone newbie" like me to the topic?

How did you start learning the "enigmatic art of tonemaking" ?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Mertay
Jun 22 2015, 10:51 AM
GMC:er
We had a topic recently where members shared tones and kristofer gave advice, it was dependant on the backing track naturally but was popular and I guess more topics like that will pop-up in time.

I don't have your equipment, this is just a guess but on the preset probably your mid. eq (on amp or pedal) is very lowered. Try increasing it slowly to taste and then decrease the overall output to match the backing track. If this is not the case, then probably the cabinet ir you are using must change.