2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Tone - The Wholy Grail Of Guitar Playing!
Cosmin Lupu
Feb 7 2013, 12:00 PM
Instructor
As some of you guys know (I've noticed you noticed it on Facebook tongue.gif) I've been to one of the greatest gigs on Tuesday - one that I've been dreaming of since around 1997 or even 1996! I'm talking about seeing a live performance of the guitarist responsible for me picking up the 6 strings - Slash!

It was just perfect! Great atmosphere, great sound, awesome playing and as a bonus, I got to see one of my favorite vocalists - Myles Kennedy! Now, I've been amazed by Slash's tone! I've also witnessed the line check done before the show and guess what - his tone is as dry as a desert. Very little gain in there and he doesn't use separate clean or distorted tones but works a lot with the volume knob.

I respect him even more for playing as he does, using a tone on which I couldn't probably come up with a decent phrase, but, to each his own!

We all have all sorts of perspectives on the tones of the great players out there and we usually end up a bit confused by the fact that one tone or the other is not even close to what we actually imagined so I found this article which will offer some good insight in my opinion on some principles involved in building a good tone, by taking care of all the important elements, such as amp and guitar settings or maintenance!

Tone tips

What were your first experiences building a tone? How much do you feel you have evolved in time from that moment till the present day?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Cosmin Lupu: Feb 7 2013, 12:00 PM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
zoom
Feb 7 2013, 12:35 PM
Learning Roadie
Very cool! Cheers for the post Cosmin.