Frustration, Beginner -> Intermediate
Rooks
Oct 2 2008, 05:12 PM
GMC:er
Hey GMC

I've been playing for around 3½ -4 months I rate myself as a beginner, I know the pentatonic scale (with blues extension) I can do o.k hammer ons and pulloffs
I can make a bend and a subtle vibrato.. I know some chords .. I've been practicing to music, while watching TV..

And well.. thats it .. I keep buzzing often, hit the wrong string with the pick and accidential mutes ..

I practice at least 1 hour every day.. often more .. Still I'm not going anywhere and I stumble through some lessons but don't find it any rewarding .. The beginner lessons I can do with ease but as soon as I near intermediate it crashes.

At school we are playing "Sleeping my day away" and I volunteered for rythm guitar .. I've practiced this couple of days a week for 3 weeks and I still suck bottom.. Today I was in the corner "playing along" on my guitar without amp while a better guy took over. sad.gif

How do I break that invisible barrier to being able to play anything besides a silly scale and a simple pentatonic lick?

Several people I play with have played for a few years and I feel like a joke ..

I love playing guitar, I'm keen on practicing everyday. But when it gets trivial and your not going anywhere, it's not fun to practice, and your friends make you look like an idiot ..

I must say, yeah and I said it. I seriously consider putting down the guitar and stop fooling myself.

greatly discouraged
Rooks

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------

Gear: Guitar Cort EVL X4 , Squier Strat Amp Peavey Valveking 112 50w
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
jer
Oct 2 2008, 05:19 PM
This will sound cliche but its true.

Good things come to those who wait.