Can't Slap?
dysfunction
Jul 17 2009, 07:03 AM
GMC:er
Hi guys, relatively new to GMC, been a member for a couple months but haven't posted on the forum until now.

Anyway, I'm primarily a guitarist but I picked up a bass a little while ago, and I wanted to try slapping.

And... I can't. At all. I don't mean that the techniques are too difficult, I mean that I can't get the darn thing to make a sound when I try to slap. I'm following the technique shown in any lesson, slapping with the thumb parallel to the string at the end of the fretboard, and it just makes a muted, percussive sound, not a slapped note, which should sound somewhat percussive but still be a recognizable tone. I've tried it on my guitar too, no luck. Haven't really had a chance to try it on a different bass. Could it have something to do with the way it's set up? I just changed strings (to D'Addario flat wound .045s), no difference. The action is fairly high up, though I haven't played bass long enough to know just how high in comparison.

Help?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
I've slaughtered truth
And I've shattered my heart
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
Jul 17 2009, 10:50 AM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
Hello,