Relationship Scales And Modes
snackajacks
Jan 6 2012, 11:17 AM
GMC:er
Well as I have a lot of spare time I am trying to understand modes, I read guides everywhere but the coin
doesn't hit.

if you have

Jonisch C - D - E - F - G - A - B - C
Dorisch D - E - F - G - A - B - C - D
Phrygisch E - F - G - A - B - C - D - E
Lydisch F - G - A - B - C - D - E - F
Mixolydisch G - A - B - C - D - E - F - G
Aeolisch A - B - C - D - E - F - G - A
Locrisch B - C - D - E - F - G - A - B

wouldn't this mean that it has nothing to do with the notes of modes but more the intervals ?
I understand that Ionisch = major and minor= aeolian

so if I would learn every mode on 1 position of the fretboard. Do I know all of the notes of that scale on
the fretboard ?

It know it sounds weird but Im really new to theory after 5 years of guitar.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 15)
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 6 2012, 11:21 AM
Instructor
Yes, it has everything to do with intervals.

Watch the intervals in C major (C Ionian) scale:

C - D - E = F - G - A - B = C

"-" stands for whole step (major second)
"=" stands for half step (minor second)

When you shift the tonic to another note, intervals stay where they are, so another scale (mode) is being formed.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)

+Quote Post
snackajacks
Jan 6 2012, 11:27 AM
QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jan 6 2012, 11:21 AM) *