New Beginner Guitar Advice
Mygas
Jun 23 2009, 05:43 AM
GMC:er
So I've been playing for about a year on a rather...sub-par...Telecaster. Not a Fender brand, some knock off brand-less. Basically the guy I bought it from really sold me a nice hard case for $20 and threw in the guitar for free knowing I was just starting.

Anyway, a few of my more expert buddies told me to get something...anything...better. I also feel like I've outgrown the thing, and it really needs bigger than DIY work. (New frets for one...) It's also got that Tele-sound to it which is great and all...but I'm more into the heavier rock. (Rise Against, Disturbed, Seether, etc.)

...but I'm also a college student...and budget aint exactly great at all.

So basically I've been looking at replacement beginner guitars...something that can actually have action relatively decent. (Current guitar's action I sware is double what a stock Tele should be) I've come across the Epiphone Les Paul Special II and Epiphone SG Special. (Both retailing at $170)

I think the Les Paul (Vintage Sunburst) looks better, but the size and weight really detract me from it. On the other hand the SG, while lighter and from what it seems like more playable...is rather plain. Especially since I've spent the last two hours trying to find someone who sells pickguards for it to no avail.

I'd love to hear input on the two of those above but the real question is...if I REALLY squeeze my budget I can pick up a Epiphone G-310. Best of both worlds, lighter than a LP but something I can actually customize the look with. Also separate tone and volume controls for the pickups is I'm sure a plus...although I'm still too beginner to care about such things honestly.

So, is the G-310 REALLY worth the extra $80? Or should I stick with one of the other options until I'm good enough to warrant a mid-level $1000 purchase.

Also, any other suggestions in this price range would be awesome!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net