3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Improving Recording Tone Quality With Vsts
sammetal92
Jan 24 2013, 02:38 PM
GMC:er
Hey Guys,

I posed this question to Todd too, and then I thought I should take everyone's opinion, that'd be better for me. I tried searching for this topic, and while I did find some topics very close to my problem, there weren't any solutions working for me sad.gif

I'm really new to recording, I don't have any audio interface, I just connect my amp to my soundcard via the headphone port on my amp and line-in on my soundcard. I use Reaper. It all sounds pretty decent.

I've been trying to get good quality tone from free VSTs. I've used Poulin amps, Poulin LeCab, Nick Crow 8505 and Amplitube 3 Free. They all sound good, but I just don't know how to get that High quality tone, I manage to achieve the tone I want to, but it sounds like its like too flat, too loud and clipping.

I've seen Ivan's video on youtube for this:

Firstly, listen to the backing track (3:24 on the video). I know it must've been recorded in a studio with awesome equipment, but one can always try achieving the tone. The backing track is really high quality, all instruments have equal volumes, no clipping and no fuzzy noises.

I don't have any clicking/cracking sounds. And the sound of clean guitar is fine for me.

Now listen to his sound at 4:15, that's sounds pretty "over-the-top" and unrefined. I can achieve that tone, but if I try to use it with a backing track, it just doesn't blend in, sounds like a completely different song being played elsewhere.

Now the tone of the guitar till 5:52 in the video, THAT is how my guitar sounds, its kind of unrefined, flat and loud. But then Ivan puts on delay and the sound of the guitar at 6:05 magically changes... That is how I want my guitar to sound.

Any way of reaching my dream tone or nearly as good?

Thank you!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!