Mtp Cv Playaxeman
playaxeman
Dec 2 2009, 04:53 PM
Learning Rock Star
Hi Pedja

I am really excited to do this MTP.

I picked up the guitar for the first time when I was 14 years old.
The reason I started playing is I heard Mark Farmer of Grand Fund Railroad, Ritchie Blackmore of Deep Purple and Jimi Hendrix . I wanted to learn that.

I never took guitar playing very serious until 1 years ago. That is when I joined GMC.net. The reason I joined is because I am playing in a cover bands sine 1,5 year I wanted to become better in theory (what scales to play over a progression) , technique (sweeps, tapping, AP, chords, finger picking) etc), timing, phrasing, style (blues, rock, funk, jazz etc)

I have been playing stuff without knowing what I was doing (what key or what scale to used at what chord) I want to play in a the way like breathing or walking: do it natural not forced.

Thanks to my MTP with Muris I have better understanding of what to play at what kinda chord, but I want to improved that.
But I have little knowledge of theory, scales. I know some pentatonic minor boxes by hard. I used them when I iimprovise but I like to extend my knowledge on this: see relations on how to use minor & major scales in a chord progression.
I don't have a perfect ear and timing. What I have been playing on GMC so far is learned by hard through GMC tabbed lessons .

I like a lot of styles wheter there is a good guitart in it: funk (T.O.P.), blues (Robben Ford, BB King, Gary Moore,Clapton, Jeff Heally, SRV) (Hard)Rock: Toto, Rush. MSG. Satch, Iron Maiden, UFO, Scorpions. Jazz:(Wes Montgomery) Fusion (Mike Stern, Al di Meola)

My overall goal is to become a (intermediatte) all-round guitarist. I want to handle with confident different styles: blues, funk, (hard)rock, ballads, Acoustic, fusion, Jazz blues, pop style of music.

My goals are:

- theory : being able to put theory in practice: improvise without playing wrong notes and play beyond box 1