New Here, Beginner Questions
vane505
Feb 15 2010, 07:17 PM
GMC:er
Greetings GMC smile.gif I am a beginner to electric guitar (played some basic fingerpickingsongs on my acoustic) and I have a few beginner questions.

* When picking 2+ strings with the pick, do you usually mute any other strings? Any good excercises you would recommend?
* On pull-offs, do you usually mute the strings below? I can't do it without letting the string below ring.
* When I try to bend a string, it often get stuck somewhat close or under my nails (I use second, third and fourth finger most often). Any good excercises or tips on how to bend?
* Also, can you recommend how to split a daily scheme (for example, 15 mins excercise, 15 mins song practice)? I will have like 30 mins/day (for now) that I can play.

Appreciate help cool.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
iamblackmo
Feb 15 2010, 07:31 PM
QUOTE (vane505 @ Feb 15 2010, 01:17 PM) *
Greetings GMC smile.gif I am a beginner to electric guitar (played some basic fingerpickingsongs on my acoustic) and I have a few beginner questions.

* When picking 2+ strings with the pick, do you usually mute any other strings? Any good excercises you would recommend?
* On pull-offs, do you usually mute the strings below? I can't do it without letting the string below ring.
* When I try to bend a string, it often get stuck somewhat close or under my nails (I use second, third and fourth finger most often). Any good excercises or tips on how to bend?
* Also, can you recommend how to split a daily scheme (for example, 15 mins excercise, 15 mins song practice)? I will have like 30 mins/day (for now) that I can play.

Appreciate help cool.gif