2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Hello From New Member...bobbyd In Nyc, It's a tad long but worth the read....promise.
FunktheBlues
Sep 14 2016, 10:23 AM
GMC:er
Hello new friends.......I accidentally stumbled on this gem of a website and joined immediately. I was already paying for two other subscription based instruction websites and I still had to join this site because I think it kicks ass. I have been playing for 40 years and learned a long time ago, the more I know, the more I don't know. I was smart enough to take a music theory course in my only year at SUNY Buffalo back in 1980. I am grateful I know theory because that laid the foundation for everything to follow. In 1980 my life changed forever because I lost my virginity and my guitar ego in same year. I thought I was hot shit on guitar because I was playing 4 years and could play almost anything I heard by ear. I remember learning Jessica by Allman Bros and could play also Statesboro Blues note-for-note on slide so I knew my chops were getting good. And I was a bit cocky. Then it happened and I realized how badly I sucked on guitar. We had a college bash and I saw am unknown band called the Dixie Dregs with this unknown guitarist named Steve Morse. I stained my panties, and I am sure quit guitar for a week I also quit college to become a rock star which didn't happen for me. The rub is it's going to happen during the second 1/2 of my life. More to follow. This is an amazing story but do not want thread too long. Let's just put it this way. I was in such a horrific accident at end of 2012, I was pronounced dead for over 2 minutes and spent 19 days in hospital. The injuries would boggle your minds so I will only tell you about one which was a traumatic brain injury and is the reason I am playing guitar again today. This was part of God's plan for me because he broke me down to nothing and spent 3 years rebuilding me into a better person and my guitar playing has never been as good. Not even close.