Another String Muting Thread, Don't want to let ring
Nighthawk1
Jun 26 2008, 03:06 PM
GMC:er
Hey there Gmc,
I also have a question about string muting. I am not a complete beginner but despite of the fact I think I have been doing something wrong the whole time . It bothers me that my licks don't sound clear. (And I am not talking about distortion here)...It's just that I think I let notes ring which shouldn't ring, and I don't know exactly how to mute them...maybe this example makes it clearer to you...
A5 C5
|--3-| |--3-| |--3-| |--3-|

------5----------5----------5----------5------|--
--------8p-5-------8p-5-------8p-5-------8p-5-|
--7b---------7b---------7b---------7b---------|
----------------------------------------------|--
----------------------------------------------|--
----------------------------------------------|

I have always been playing this lick by fretting the fifth fret on the high e and b string the whole time over the lick..so that the A in this case keeps ringing through the whole lick...and I guess that's the reasons why I always think there is too much noise when playing licks like that.
So I wanted to ask how you guys play that lick for example..what do you do to let the note sound as long as their note value really is...?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
jacmoe
Jun 26 2008, 03:11 PM
What's wrong with the other topic? unsure.gif

I would play it without barring the notes.
They will mute when the fingers leaves the frets.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
QUOTE ("Steve Vai")