My Great Experiment, results so far
jstcrsn
Nov 15 2010, 07:51 PM
Learning Tone Master
i don't now if i will do this right , but here i go

if you recall , my experiment was playing everything with an upstroke to develop my weak point, this is how paul gilbert admittedly started out- but since he does this so well , i was hoping this would help me get over my hump----alt. picking. I have been playing for over 20 years and still can't and have spent most of my time at GMC focusing on this .
Lets back up, when i was 8 i fell out of tree and broke my arm and many years later when i started to play again i noticed that my arm was not set right, thus not allowing me to bend my wrist to play chords. see picture
solution for me --learn guitar left handed.
since my wrist was twisted a little laugh.gif . i had to compensate by reversing my pick angle so i could achieve string muting properly
Wel i am recently thinking this is my problem with picking, so i have switched pick angle , but this causes my thumb to pinch the side of my index finger and the pick starts to migrate out of my grip..see picture
so now , this is my solution . I have stuck a copper washer between my thumb and finger and this has resulted in a very good technique however , if i take it out , my thumb automatically hurts and then pinches my finger, but i can not play with a fluid stroke for playing rhythm with the washer, so, i am trying to practice my rhythm with the washer
i am hoping that once i eventually can play everything with my crutch , with a good technique , i can slowly start weening myself from the washer
and you guessed it , be ready for my new axe------- a hellraiser