My Right Hand Is F'd
orion6324
Feb 25 2008, 03:03 PM
GMC:er
ok so ive been playing off and on now for about 20 yrs and [this might sound funny to some of you] ive always held my pick with 3 yes i said 3 fingers thumb index and middle and about 2 yrs ago a friend of mine said...man i just noticed you hold your pick with 3 fingers... and he convinced me to try a more normal thumb and index between the first knuckles approach so i did and i must say that artificial harmonics and some fast pedal tone picking on the low E IS alot easier....BUT...my muting with my right hand is just almost to the point of terrible when i play that way...im getting better at it and i know its just gonna take time[its like starting all over again] ....so my question is... have any of you ever had to make this kind of a drastic change after playing so long and does anyone have any tips or good advice on how to speed the process along?...thx

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
DeepRoots
Feb 25 2008, 03:12 PM
Get to da Chopper!
yes yes me too smile.gif but for me it was only about 6 months tongue.gif

It took alot of time for me- i remember my muting sounded awful before and after the switch (for a while).

It took me a lot of patience to stick with the new pick approach but it totally payed off.

One exercise i remember doing alot of was playing a minor shape barre chord and resting my palm so that it would mute all of the strings (didnt need so much flesh to sound good). Then id pick out the notes with alternate picking but skipping a string each time like : 1st string, 3rd string, 2nd string, 4th string, 3rd string, 5 string, 4th string, 6th string < in that order while holding the barre chord shape and muting the strings. That definitely helped me get the feel of it.