Improving A Begginer Tone
Mario87
Jun 14 2009, 02:29 PM
GMC:er
Hi everybody,

The last christmas, I got a Yamaha starter kit wich included a Strato copy called "EG 012" and a little 15W Yamaha Amp. This pack (200 €) seemed enough because I didnt know if playing guitar was something for me. Half a year later, my amp doesnt inspire me really... it sounds dirty, poor, boring... probably because I love to play with max gain and treble

Sometimes I hire with my friends a small studio with big marshalls, vox, etc. I just plug my cheapy guitar on them and its like "Wooahaa!". Extremely cool tone compared with the one I get in my house.

Im just a student, so I cant spend 1000$ on a good amp rigth now, and I was thinking about buying a Pocket POD or a POD XT. I also like the idea of "testing" a lot of differents amps and effects so I can get an idea of what I wanna buy in the future. I could plug the POD to my crappy amp (clean channel), or to my 5.1 PC speakers system. I could donwload some instructor's tones here and carry on the POD to the studio with my favourite customized tones! And record some songs would be great too.

There is something else (300 € max) I could do to get an inspiring tone in my house?
Its the POD something that suits to my gear and to my skill? (What the hell is a flanger or chorus? lol... I always love to learn that kind of stuff anyway)

Im a bit lost, any help is aprecciated.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Matt23
Jun 14 2009, 02:41 PM
Accomplished Tone Master
Well I'm no gear expert but I can tell you a few things.