Metal Feel
Jeffrey
Sep 3 2007, 09:26 AM
GMC:er
Hey Pavel, when I started playing I learned major pentatonic shapes and now when i switched into a more metal style my pentatonic blues keep coming back ( lol i got the blues! ) I want to know how to bend without making it sound bluesy. and also if the E Aeolian scale will work(I think you said something about this) anyways can't wait for the news!

-jeffrey

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
My Guitar:
IPB Image

Schecter FR C-1 Hellraiser
CONSTRUCTION/SCALE: Set-Neck w/ Ultra Access /25.5"
BODY: Mahogany w/ Quilted Maple Top
NECK/FINGERBOARD: 3-pc. Mahogany/Rosewood
FRETS: 24 X-Jumbo
INLAYS: Gothic Cross
PICKUPS: EMG active 81/85
ELECTRONICS: Vol/Vol/Tone/3-Way switch
BRIDGE: Original Floyd Rose Tremolo
BINDING: Abalone
TUNERS: Grover
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
Pavel
Sep 3 2007, 05:45 PM
Instructor
What i suggest is to learn minor and harmonic minor scales. Pentatonic scale by itself sounds bluesy so you can't expect playing blues/pentatonic scale to sound metal. You of course can use pentatonic scales in metal but than you have to use pentatonic 3 notes per string boxes and shred them.

Metal is more minor oriented so you'll have to break out of pentatonic to get into metal. smile.gif

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

+Quote Post
Twibeard
Oct 29 2007, 08:21 PM
QUOTE (Pavel @ Sep 3 2007, 05:45 PM) *