8 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Lcsdds (monte) Mentored By Muris, CLOSED
lcsdds
Feb 17 2009, 10:37 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Hi Muris,
I will go into detail a little more about my goals etc. a little later but I wanted to get some clips up so you can see my current playing level.

Before we get started I just want to say thanks for taking the time to help me with my playing. Means A LOT!!

BACKGROUND

I am 38 and have been playing for around 20 years by now. My favorite players when I was learning were Vai, Satch and Vito Bratta. I have been playing pretty consistently for those 20 years but in the last 2 years and especially the last 6 months I have become extremely focused and consistent with my practicing and playing. My favorite type of music is Rock and I just love instrumental guitar music.

Never been in a band and really never had any kind of contact with any musicians until I joined GMC.

CURRENT STATUS

I think my strengths are my legato and tapping. I think I can bend pretty decent and I think I can come up with nice melodies/licks etc. I think I am decent at sweep picking and economy picking as well although they could use some work as well.

My weaknesses are definitely my vibrato and my alternate picking. I don't know why I dont consistently work on this technique, although since January I have been more consistent than usual. I think it is because my legato and tapping are so developed compared to my AP that it is just easier for me to fall back into my comfort zone and rely on those techniques rather than take the time to develop a good AP technique. THIS WILL BE REMEDIED THIS YEAR!! I just need some guidance on how to do it.

THEORY

I think I have a pretty good background here. I know all my scales and triads and I understand modes etc. I know where chords come from and how to build them. In this area I feel pretty comfortable about where I am although I could always learn more. smile.gif

CURRENT ROUTINE