3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Triaxis Retubing Advice, tube junkie requires a fix ...
Neurologi
Sep 1 2009, 05:15 AM
GMC:er
Hi Muris,

I am a newbie to the GMC site and noticed by trolling through some older forum posts of yours that you have had experience in this department. I was wondering whether you could offer some advice and suggestions in this regard?

I have experienced the same problem you mentioned about hum and noise. I have tried numerous means to fix the issue. None of which have been overly successful. Of course, pumping up the gain (I can't help it!) does nothing to alleviate this. It has been a constant source of irritation to me in an otherwise awesome piece of kit.

My idea is that there is no way around it --- I need to retube the stock tubes (cheap and not of the best quality considering the purchase price) that came with the unit when I bought it brand new way back when. Many Triaxis users in various forums recommend it as they were not happy with the tone out of the box either.

I was stoked to find you have purchased a retube kit from Eurotubes. I too, was considering exactly that in the coming month or two. In particular, I had my eyes on the "Triaxis High Gain Low Output Option" in their catalog. Some time ago, I got my hands on the schematic diagram which confirmed there is a real need to tame the noise by a specific combination of tube placements in the appropriate stages.

My main question is: "did you find that the hum and noise were appreciably lowered by your action as you hoped and therefore easier to live with?". Like you, I don't use noise reduction and tend to not like the result if I do. More tends to be lost than gained. In short, I am hoping this will be the longed for 'magic bullet', so to speak.

Any and all advice is most welcome.

Many thanks,
Ken

PS GMC has provided a big boost to my desire to dust off my gear and actually start using it again! cool.gif

Addendum: