Problems With Mac (pod Xt)
MigeZ
Aug 25 2009, 08:25 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 262
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Helsinki Finland
So well i tried to record some playing today with my brand new imac. Well it didn't go as I expected sad.gif I plugged my guitar to my pod xt and then pod xt to imac using usb-2. And well it sounded kinda like this. (File below) I have newest drivers etc. Can anyone help me to get a clue from where to start troubleshooting. Otherwise my mac works well Itunes work as it should no other problems with sound sad.gif

Sincerely MigeZ
Ps. Thats just some random playing so it bad. Well like you'd hear it form that mess biggrin.gif

Well heres some 3 string sweeping which now thanks to my imac sound like Dragonforce (live)

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by MigeZ: Aug 25 2009, 08:33 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Oma_kappale_4.mp3 ( 391.76K ) Number of downloads: 726
 


--------------------
MigeZ
What doesn't kill you
Will only make you stronger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Aug 26 2009, 04:39 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Could be the buffer settings on the Mac, but I'm not sure where they are. Perhaps someone that uses a Mac can help?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
Aug 26 2009, 05:48 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
I sometimes get a similar effect when i play through GarageBand or Logic and have in the same time a browser window open with videos (YouTube, GMC, ..).

Normally it's fixed when i quite the browser and re-open it again. Not sure if it works in your case, but at least something to try smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
Aug 26 2009, 06:50 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Yeah, something is making the computer "busy" (flash ads, java applet, stuff in browser) or ... you have a laptop with a slow hard drive?

I dunno much about mac hardware anymore (last one I owned was 512k and had a handle, it was made in 1984) but maybe see if you have one of those slow 5400(?) rpm or 7200 rpm hard drives in that book?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MigeZ
Aug 26 2009, 07:23 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 262
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Helsinki Finland
Thanks for answers ppl smile.gif Well I think its not about "busyness" because my Imac (3.04 GH processor etc. ) is brand new smile.gif And the hard-drive is 7200 rpm. Well i haven't gotten it to work through Usb yet so if someone knows a solution it would be cool smile.gif But well I plugged my Pod XT through line input of my mac so now it works for recording smile.gif Only bad side is that i can't play music through it sad.gif
Cheers ppl smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by MigeZ: Aug 26 2009, 07:24 PM


--------------------
MigeZ
What doesn't kill you
Will only make you stronger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
Aug 26 2009, 07:28 PM
Experienced Tone Seeker
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands

BTW, you didn't use an USB hub? that's bad wink.gif

And this is all pod farm... but maybe it'll help anyway?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by kaznie_NL: Aug 26 2009, 07:33 PM


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
Aug 26 2009, 07:38 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
QUOTE (MigeZ @ Aug 26 2009, 09:23 PM) *
Thanks for answers ppl smile.gif Well I think its not about "busyness" because my Imac (3.04 GH processor etc. ) is brand new smile.gif And the hard-drive is 7200 rpm. Well i haven't gotten it to work through Usb yet so if someone knows a solution it would be cool smile.gif But well I plugged my Pod XT through line input of my mac so now it works for recording smile.gif Only bad side is that i can't play music through it sad.gif
Cheers ppl smile.gif


try to replace the cable? biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
Aug 26 2009, 07:46 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
Yes, with my POD XT Live it was similar like in the video ... thanks Kaznie smile.gif
I don't needed to reboot thought. To close applications or to switch the audio setting back to internal soundcard and then again to the POD was mostly enough.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MigeZ
Aug 26 2009, 09:58 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 262
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Helsinki Finland
QUOTE (kaznie_NL @ Aug 26 2009, 09:28 PM) *

BTW, you didn't use an USB hub? that's bad wink.gif

And this is all pod farm... but maybe it'll help anyway?

Ty for answers ( going to check that video out tomorrow)
Yes I did use USB hub biggrin.gif It crackels on USB but not on line input. And well tested the USB wire on my PC it works fine there biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MigeZ
What doesn't kill you
Will only make you stronger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
Aug 27 2009, 08:23 PM
Experienced Tone Seeker
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
QUOTE (MigeZ @ Aug 26 2009, 10:58 PM) *
Ty for answers ( going to check that video out tomorrow)
Yes I did use USB hub biggrin.gif It crackels on USB but not on line input. And well tested the USB wire on my PC it works fine there biggrin.gif

so.. solved?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MigeZ
Aug 27 2009, 08:41 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 262
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Helsinki Finland
QUOTE (kaznie_NL @ Aug 27 2009, 10:23 PM) *
so.. solved?

Well yea kinda biggrin.gif I can't use the USB wire atm but line in works. So well I guess we can call this solved biggrin.gif
Ty ppl smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MigeZ
What doesn't kill you
Will only make you stronger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
Aug 27 2009, 10:08 PM
Learning Tone Seeker
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
QUOTE (MigeZ @ Aug 27 2009, 09:41 PM) *
Well yea kinda biggrin.gif I can't use the USB wire atm but line in works. So well I guess we can call this solved biggrin.gif
Ty ppl smile.gif

Hm .. i would still suggest you to figure out the USB connection. Line in works, but using the POD as external sound-card would give you a better sound quality for recording.


You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Koopid
Aug 28 2009, 09:01 AM
Learning Roadie
Posts: 321
Joined: 22-May 08
From: Söderhamn Sweden
I have a brand new Macbook Pro. PodXT live did *not* work well with USB hub, i had to connect it directly.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Gear
Amp
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier
Marshall 1960A cab
Guitars
ESP Eclipse I CTM Snow White
Jackson SLSMG
Takamine EG320C
Bass
Epiphone Thunderbird Goth Bass
Effects/Stomps
Boss SD1
Boss MT2 Metalzone
Dunlop Zack Wylde Wah
Behringer BEQ700 Equalizer
Harley Benton PT-100 stagetuner
Studio EQ
PodXT Live
Edirol FA 66 soundcard
Yamaha HS50M monitors
Macbook pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MigeZ
Feb 14 2010, 12:22 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 262
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Helsinki Finland
Well I decided to by an Amplitube Stealth plug and everything has worked like dream since then biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MigeZ
What doesn't kill you
Will only make you stronger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2021 - 02:52 PM