I Think I Started Learning Guitar On The Wrong Foot...
loundzilla
Aug 27 2009, 12:47 PM
GMC:er
I pretty much started playing guitar by finding a song that i really liked then getting the tab for it. I've pretty much only done that since last december.

After readying lots around this awesome website I think i need to have more structure in my "play" time than just getting a random song i like and learning it.

The only problem is, i dont really know what I should be learning first.

Can anyone help with this?

Cheers,

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
When I look in the mirror I see a face-melting guitar shredder.... maybe my mirror tells the future?
Download the GMC Guitar Theory Grimoire Here!

Guitars
Ibanez RGA42 (EMG 81/85 pickups)
Takemine G series electro acoustic

Equipment
Line 6 spider 3 75 amp
Line 6 POD studio UX2
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Jerry Arcidiacon...
Aug 27 2009, 01:16 PM
Instructor
There's nothing wrong while learning some songs you like. Some people are doing the opposite, learning random licks, riffs, exercises and so on, and they can't play a whole song from the beginning to the end.
You can do some kind of schedule for your practice. Learn the five pentatonic boxes, start to improvise over some blues backing track using them. Learn also new chords and find new voicings by yourself.
You can incorporate some alternate picking exercise in your routine, there are a lot of lessons here about this topic. Then you can add some advanced stuff like legato, economy, sweep, etc..
Check also Andrew's theory board, you can find a lot info there.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!