New M1 Mac On It's Way To Me!
Todd Simpson
Nov 28 2021, 08:05 PM
GMC:er
I finally bought one of the new M1 Macs. I looked at all of them, including the crazy price newest releases. As far as bang for your buck, the clear winner in my mind is the bone stock, starter Mac Mini m1. It's just crazy inexspensive relative to it's performance and the other new M1 variants. You can get a laptop M1x now and spend nearly 5k on it. I've never been that guy, so I'm not buying that machine. I got the standard issue 8gb/256gb unit. Im going to run logic on it and see how many of my plugins actually work!! I'll use this thread to keep folks updated.

I've been using my trusty quad i7/16gb ram/1tb ssd for several years now and they were still selling that same spec of macbook pro right up until the M1. I'm sure the transition will have some issues so I'll let you guys know smile.gif I think I'm the only GMCr who will be on the new platform unless other folks have bought one and not shared or I somehow missed it. If anyone has one or plans to get one please do share!

so here is a spec sheet.

Attached Image

Here is a vid about the unit.

Stay on the right path and check out this right hand lesson!
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/ls/Right-Hand-II/

This is the next step in the evolution of the platform. Entirely proprietary so it can be crazy fast as apps are being written for a specialized chip set. it's one big software accelerator. It's always been a big software dongle. Now it's a crazy fast dongle. I'll let you guys know if the minimal ram is a problem. Also, I have a 1tb external SSD that I plan to use as primary storage. The idea of paying triple the price for a built in apple hard drive just seemed a bit crazy. Onward!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!